Monday, November 19, 2007

The Best and Worst of times... in BIG D

I will be honest it was a little hard to get out of bed this morning, but as I laid all snug in my covers a smile slowly crept across my face as my first thought of the day popped into my barely conscience mind THE DALLAS COWBOY'S ARE 9-1 AND TECH BEAT #5 OU!!
As excited as I am about the Tech win I can not get over those 'Boys! T.O having 4 touchdown in one game, and almost equally important TO batting away a ball he could have intercepted just to show off, but instead he (gasp) followed directions!?!
It has been a tough few years for us Cowboy's fans, and I will be honest I have been waiting for the bottom to fall out of this year as is my beloved Cowboy's way. Does anyone else remember that joke in the 80's "Did you hear the Cowboy's got a new head coach, he is Asian, his name is Win One Soon" But America's Team fought on and lived up to their name in the mid 90's three Superbowl's!! Half the team getting arrested and all... we were Champions! But what goes up must come down, on it's head if it was a Cowboy. Aikman will die if he gets anymore concussions, Irvin will be paralyzed if he plays much longer, The Moose is one big hit away from a wheelchair. But we still had Emmit and he has a record to break! There were glimpses of hope, Ismael, Nguyen and even some others before they came crashing down yes, I am talking to you Quincy Carter! We even got so desperate we were excited about Chad Hutchinson! All the while knowing it doesn't matter how good the athlete is if all you have as their coaches are "Yes Men" Gailey who could get us to the playoffs but nothing else, and don't even get me started on Campo. And then a light at the end of our tunnel... America's Team becomes America's Oldest Team!! Parcells, Testeverde, Ferguson, Henry, Fujita only to be balanced out by infants Julius Jones, Ware, Spears... who now I am very thankful for but at the time... who were they? Okay Parcells out, Bum Phillips' son in! Bruce Coslett OUT... now we are getting somewhere! Hello Jason Garrett, you were a back-up you know what can you do with this Romo kid? He has shown some promise, but he is no veteran like Bledsoe... oh, wait.
I am not one for predictions, I am to superstitious for that, but I will say Let's Go 'Boys!! It is lookin' good! AND I AM PUMPED!!!!!!!
And before I go a shout out to my Red Raiders! Who cares if it is "the system" that "system" lead the #5 team for almost the entire game! "The system" even took a break for a little while and let some actual runs in and those weren't half bad either!! Of Course don't get me wrong Harrell is a junior and fewer things make more happy, but it was still nice to see even a minimal amount of running! And even DEFENSE!! Who was that Tech team and what did they do with our Defense!
There is really no good way to end this, and I am afraid if I keep going I wont be able to stop so Happy Thanksgving and Go Cowboy's!!!