Here is a list of words and or phrases that I hope to one day be cool enough to say:
Word: Cat
Example Sentence: " I love that guy, he's a cool cat"
Reason I am not cool enough: I am pretty sure you have to be a musician of some sort to pull off calling someone a "cat". And as proud as I am of BOTH of my Most Improved awards from 7th grade band, they are like little, gold plated, musical notes of proof of how far I am from being a musician!
Word: Fella
Example Sentence: "Me and my fella have been together for a year now"
Reason I am not cool enough: There are actually two things that make the above sentence nearly impossible for to me be able to pull off #1 I would have to "be" with someone longer than 6 months which is to date my longest relationship and sadly was when I was in 10th grade!
#2 The girl who inspired this phrase I knew in high school and she has always been that super cool, hippie, vegetarian, spiritualist type. She lives in Puget Sound with her fella who wears pearl snap shirts and plays in a Johnny Cash tribute band. I like meat, as well as shaving, mass, and Texas way too much!!
Word: Holiday
Example Sentence: "In June we are going on holiday to Mexico"
Reason I am not cool enough: I actually think this one is less about my lack of coolness and more about my lack of being British, but whatever. And, because I would never be that girl I have to say that I stole this one from my funny friend, Paul.
Phrase: Drop Trough
Example Sentence: "Dude, did you seriously just drop trough?"
Reason I am not cool enough: In defense of my staggering lack of coolness I will say I think in the case of this phrase you have to be a dude to say it. I think that because I can't figure out how I can say it without it sounding like an invitation, which it is not! I really just like the phrase, I think it's funny!
Word: Lady
Example Sentence: " Hey, is that your lady?"
Reason I am not cool enough: I am not a biker. Nor do I have any tats or facial piercings. What makes me not cool enough is not, not having those things but being scared enough to pee a little at the thought of ever getting one of them.
Word: Tats
Example Sentence: : "Nor do I have any tats..."
Reason I pulled that one off: I slipped it in! It worked didn't it?
I am going to try it with cat next chance I get... stick around!!
Wednesday, July 25, 2007
Tuesday, July 24, 2007
Ted and me, me and Ted
There are very few things I have in common with a 70 year old, Jane Fonda loving, billionaire, atheist... except apparently our taste in movies.
I can not tell you how many times on a lazy Saturday afternoon after I have watched my third TNT "classic" of the day that I have wanted to right Ted Turner a fan letter.
I think it would go something like this:
Dear Ted,
I can call you Ted, right? I would like to take this opportunity to applaud your bravery. You who have deemed yourself and your basic cable TV stations important enough to award the title of "classic" to such movies as The Breakfast Club, Some Kind Of Wonderful and The Secret of My Success. You who have no shame in showing the same movie back to back while running commercials for that very movie on a loop with so much fervor that we the audience really will at least watch the first half hour we missed of Parenthood or Cheaper By the Dozen. How do you do it, Ted? It's as though you have read my Christmas list of movies I want but wont pay for. But, the best, when I feel closest to you is when you are able to show that movie that I do own but love so much that I still insist on watching it with commercials, formated to fit my screen and edited. You know who you are Tommy Boy and Sixteen Candles.
So Ted, from the bottom of my non accelerated lazy heart I want to thank you!
Thank you for my clothes molding in the washing machine, because I can't be bothered enough to move them to the dryer. What if I missed the commercial for the movie I am in the middle of watching?
Thank you for my not being able to find anything in my closet because I just want to hear Chris Farley say "... quite playing with your dingy!"
Thank you for all the time and energy saved not fighting the weekend crowds at H-E-B. I can grocery shop Sunday night when they have sold out of everything I need or want, it makes shopping go much faster. And as much as we agree on the movies, I don't think anyone can watch that many Law and Orders in a row.
And last but not least it is not only Saturday movies that I appreciate you for, you are my go to station November through April for basketball, you do what FSN can't or won't for the Mavs.
So, thank you Ted, though you may be totally wrong about religion and politics... you sure can pick a movie.
Yours Truly,
TNT fan in Texas
I can not tell you how many times on a lazy Saturday afternoon after I have watched my third TNT "classic" of the day that I have wanted to right Ted Turner a fan letter.
I think it would go something like this:
Dear Ted,
I can call you Ted, right? I would like to take this opportunity to applaud your bravery. You who have deemed yourself and your basic cable TV stations important enough to award the title of "classic" to such movies as The Breakfast Club, Some Kind Of Wonderful and The Secret of My Success. You who have no shame in showing the same movie back to back while running commercials for that very movie on a loop with so much fervor that we the audience really will at least watch the first half hour we missed of Parenthood or Cheaper By the Dozen. How do you do it, Ted? It's as though you have read my Christmas list of movies I want but wont pay for. But, the best, when I feel closest to you is when you are able to show that movie that I do own but love so much that I still insist on watching it with commercials, formated to fit my screen and edited. You know who you are Tommy Boy and Sixteen Candles.
So Ted, from the bottom of my non accelerated lazy heart I want to thank you!
Thank you for my clothes molding in the washing machine, because I can't be bothered enough to move them to the dryer. What if I missed the commercial for the movie I am in the middle of watching?
Thank you for my not being able to find anything in my closet because I just want to hear Chris Farley say "... quite playing with your dingy!"
Thank you for all the time and energy saved not fighting the weekend crowds at H-E-B. I can grocery shop Sunday night when they have sold out of everything I need or want, it makes shopping go much faster. And as much as we agree on the movies, I don't think anyone can watch that many Law and Orders in a row.
And last but not least it is not only Saturday movies that I appreciate you for, you are my go to station November through April for basketball, you do what FSN can't or won't for the Mavs.
So, thank you Ted, though you may be totally wrong about religion and politics... you sure can pick a movie.
Yours Truly,
TNT fan in Texas
Thursday, July 5, 2007
Aqua Sadie!
I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate my bff on a major accomplishment! Last summer, after much convincing and maybe a little bribery, Mandy and I convinced Sadie to swim laps with us in the evenings. Every time we asked Sadie warned us she was not a swimmer, nonsense I thought. And, I believe my exact words were "With that wingspan, you will be on the other side of the pool in no time!" And for as long as she and her limbs are she was, unfortunately once she was there she didn't have the energy to come back! But, that Sadie she is always up for an adventure and she went to the pool with us quite a few times. Then, when I came to her with the idea of doing a triathlon she was pretty nervous about the swim, but she was steadfast! We practiced for a few months, she had a pattern down when she would get tired she would backstroke or sidestroke, she would stop and rest a little. Eventually she worked her way up to being able to swim a 1/2 mile which was the requirement of the race. She made it through the Danskin swim nonstop in around 24 minutes! Impressive, right? It gets better! We have continued to swim together a few nights a week, she doesn't count laps she usually just paces behind me and once I realized this I started going over the 16 laps that make up a half mile. A few weeks ago she went 22 laps and said she finally got into a rhythm. I was so proud of her! So Monday night we go to the pool we are both tired and I ask if she would like to try to swim a mile? She knows I would prefer to swim a mile since it was the only thing we were planning on doing that night and she says she can do a half mile and she will see how it goes after that. So we settle in to our groove she is about a lap behind me the whole time and I noticed that she never changed her stroke the whole time, which is a sign that she isn't getting too tired. At lap 23 I try and give her a thumb's up because she has officially gone further than she ever has! I will say it is really hard to be encouraging under water! Each new lap I say a little prayer that she doesn't stop. The pool we are in is not regulation so it takes 35 laps instead of 32 to be a mile, and right around laps 32 and 33 she is slowing down. Keep going, Sade, I am willing her forward, only 3 more laps! By this time we have been swimming consistently for almost on hour. And then lap 35!! She's done it!! Sadie has just swam a MILE!! The girl who last summer couldn't swim half a lap has just swam 35!! Congrats, Sadie!! Next time you will be the swim angel!
Also, I would like to say that in the days and month following the Danskin so many of our friends and family have said how motivated they are now to do a tri and some of them have even signed up and started training for some this summer! I am so impressed with there commitment! And I hope and pray for those who have not started officially training that they will remain excited and committed to doing something or anything they desire for themselves! I know not everyone has the desire to do tri's but I also know that there is no one in the world that doesn't want something!
Soooo, go get it! Work hard! You can do it! You have been so graciously blessed with a perfect healthy body and mind! There will never be a "good" time, you will never not be busy, you will never have all the money you want or sometimes need, you will never be less tired, that being said do something that makes you feel so great that you forget about all the other stuff!
Set a goal, work hard, see it through! You are more than worth it! If you need help, call me! We will get there together!
Just give yourself a chance to be amazed, by yourself!!
Also, I would like to say that in the days and month following the Danskin so many of our friends and family have said how motivated they are now to do a tri and some of them have even signed up and started training for some this summer! I am so impressed with there commitment! And I hope and pray for those who have not started officially training that they will remain excited and committed to doing something or anything they desire for themselves! I know not everyone has the desire to do tri's but I also know that there is no one in the world that doesn't want something!
Soooo, go get it! Work hard! You can do it! You have been so graciously blessed with a perfect healthy body and mind! There will never be a "good" time, you will never not be busy, you will never have all the money you want or sometimes need, you will never be less tired, that being said do something that makes you feel so great that you forget about all the other stuff!
Set a goal, work hard, see it through! You are more than worth it! If you need help, call me! We will get there together!
Just give yourself a chance to be amazed, by yourself!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)